20th Golden Foot Monaco Awards: top footballers honoured and new additions for 2022!

Publication date: 28/12/2022
The Golden Foot Monaco Awards have been honouring the world's greatest footballers for two decades. Based in the Principality, this special event is growing and is set for some exciting new developments!

Hosted in the Principality for twenty years, the Golden Foot Awards recognise the lifetime achievements of the finest players in the men and women's games, both on and off the pitch. On Wednesday 21 December, the Awards marked their twentieth anniversary with a ceremony at the Grimaldi Forum, held under the High Patronage of H.S.H. Prince Albert II and attended by numerous international sports stars. A few years ago, the Golden Foot Awards saw the creation of a Promenade of Champions, a kind of walk of fame for the world's greatest footballers!

For the men, this 20th anniversary edition honoured Robert Lewandowski, the Polish international and FC Barcelona star, who left his footprints directly on the stage in what was a first for the Monegasque event. The women's award went to Kosovare Asllani, of AC Milan and the Swedish national team. The evening was also a chance to celebrate some iconic figures of football from across the generations, with Emilio Butragueño, Fatih Terim, Juan Sebastián Verón, and Florentino Perez receiving "Golden Foot Legend" awards from Yann Bertrand, Administrative Director of the Monaco Red Cross, and Oleksiy Yefimov, CEO of AS Monaco Basket.

The Monaco-based event also featured some new additions this year. The non-profit association "Golden Foot Legends", which presented awards at the ceremony, announced plans to modernise and showcase the Promenade of Champions, which will include the use of new technologies. Visible from the Terraces of the Casino de Monte-Carlo and overlooking Port Hercule, the Promenade will soon feature the footprints of H.S.H. Prince Albert II, along with those of the legends honoured and this year's winners of the Golden Foot (men and women's awards)! These illustrious footprints will join those of some of the greatestr names in the history of football, including Zinédine Zidane, Diego Armando Maradona, and Ronaldinho….

To celebrate this prestigious event, a special song was even written and debuted at the awards ceremony (lyrics by Emma Ragazzi-Lavarello, music by Christian Tourniaire, -ed.)!