See

Le Rocher

Discover the old town through the narrow alleyways from the middle ages which lead to the picturesque Place Saint Nicolas and Placette Bosio, the Chapel of Mercy, Palais de Justice and the Cathedral, a Roman-Byzantine style building built in 1875.
Naturally, your feet will guide you to the Place du Palais, where every day at precisely 11:55am the changing of the guard takes place in front of the Princely Palace.
A
La Rampe Major et Porte Neuve
The Rampe Major, paved with red bricks, runs between two XVIth century gateways, connecting La Condamine and the Place du Palais.
Visit time
15 min.
Bus routes 1, 2, 3, 4, 6 Place d'Armes
Place d'Armes
B
The Changing of the Guard
Every day at 11.55 am, a changing of the guard ceremony takes place on the Palace Square, a solemn military ritual performed with perfect coordination.
Visit time
15 min.
Bus routes 1, 2 Monaco-Ville
Place du Palais
Website
C
Prince’s Palace
The Prince’s Palace in Monaco is a private residence, but the State Apartments are open to visitors for part of the year.  (Temporarily closed)
Bus routes 1, 2 Monaco-Ville
Place du Palais
Website
D
Courthouse

This Palace was built in 1924, on the personal initiative of HSH Prince Louis II and inaugurated on May 1st 1930. 

Bus routes 1, 2 Monaco-Ville
5 Rue Colonel Bellando de Castro
E
Cathédrale de Monaco

This Roman-Byzantine style building was constructed in 1875 using white stone from La Turbie. It houses the tombs of Monaco’s former Princes. Inside, alongside the magnificent high altar and the Episcopal throne made from white Carrara marble, stands a retable by the Niçois painter Louis Bréa, which dates from the year 1500.

Visit time
30 min.
Bus routes 1, 2 Monaco-Ville
4, rue Colonel Bellando de Castro
Website
F
St Martin Gardens

The Principality’s first public garden, opened in 1816, was built on an abandoned plot in order to provide work for residents when famine hit the Principality.

Visit time
10 min.
Bus routes 1, 2 Monaco-Ville
Avenue Saint-Martin
Website
G
Oceanographic Museum of Monaco

Built on the side of Monaco’s legendary Rocher, the Oceanographic Museum founded by H.S.H. Prince Albert II of Monaco’s great-great-grandfather Prince Albert I has been watching over the oceans for more than a century. The Museum is renowned throughout the world for its expertise and has more than 6,000 specimens on display. 

Visit time
3h00
Bus routes 1, 2 Monaco-Ville
Avenue Saint-Martin
Website